Quick Links

Quick Links

01455 554 101 Email Us

Lutterworth College

Science & Technology

A Welcome from Head of Faculty (Science & Technology), Mr John Keller

 

The Science and Technology Department is passionate about allowing every student to learn, flourish and succeed.

At Lutterworth College we promote the excitement of scientific investigation – to:

(i) bring life to the theory and underpinning knowledge of many of the most fundamental scientific concepts and nurturing a life-long interest in science, and;

(ii) provide opportunities to develop skills crucial in science and engineering careers, including precision, accurate measurement, and the mastery of often delicate equipment.

(iii) develop important transferrable skills, such as team-work, resilience and analysis.

Our Science staff believe that teaching with the principles of Cognitive Science, i.e. Cognitive load theory, will help support our students in gaining access to, storing and achieving fluency and mastery in gaining knowledge and understanding. Underpinning our curriculum is the concept of schema:  building knowledge that is secure, deep, well organised, retrievable with some fluency and can be applied to new concepts.

The goal – when we are teaching new knowledge, we want all students to know it, all of it, ‘Making it stick isn’t something we hope for; it’s something we plan for and drive through.’ And to ‘know’ means – recall, use, apply, explain – also known as ‘understand’.

Fundamental factors in teaching this curriculum well - if everyone is to know all the knowledge under consideration, then:

  • The fundamental knowledge needs to be clear, i.e. powerful knowledge;
  • Everyone in the class needs to be involved;
  • Students need to be able to check their own understanding as much as the teacher does; Checking needs to come before practising;
  • Finally, students need independent practice – ‘doing it myself without help’.

A wide and deep bank of subject knowledge will allow our students to leave Lutterworth College with the ability to ask better questions of the world, make more informed decisions and apply their knowledge to unfamiliar situations. We want our students to leave knowing how scientific discoveries are hypothesised, tested and peer reviewed. We want our students to have a scientific understanding of the world, so they can comprehend developments in the news, go beyond A’ Level or degree, become an expert tradesman, engage in scientific conversations at any age of their life, appreciate the impact they have on the environment even help their own children with the homework! 

Our values are aligned with those of The Lutterworth Academies Trust

They represent what is important to us as a school and symbolises what we stand for:

  • High expectations of and aspirations for all
  • Committed to best practice, working collaboratively, learning from mistakes - see it, say it, fix it
  • Focussed on the individual
  • Inclusive, leaving no one behind
  • Everything geared to teaching and learning
  • Committed to shared values, including our Christian Ethos.
  • Celebrating success, having pride in all that we do
  • Broad education, giving opportunity for human flourishing
  • Working closely with all stakeholders
  • Connected with the community, encouraging social responsibility

Aims

Our aims are aligned with those of The Lutterworth Academies Trust. They represent what we want to achieve as a school community:

  • Strategic leadership, with a passionately-articulated shared vision.
  • High quality teachers delivering outstanding teaching in all subjects
  • Multiple learning pathways to meet the needs of every student.
  • Physical environments fit for purpose, safe and accessible for all.
  • Aspirational culture and behavior to encourage great learning.
  • One to one support and target setting to ensure that students are able to access the support needed to reach their aspirations

Faculty staff list and contact details: (names, positions and email / contacts)

 

Science

 

Mr J Keller

Head of Faculty and Teacher of Science (Physics)

J.Keller@lutterworthcollege.com

Miss K Baker

Teacher of Science (Chemistry)

K.Baker@lutterworthcollege.com

Mr N Carter

Teacher of Science (Physics)

N. Carter@lutterworthcollege.com

Mrs D Hardy

Teacher of Science (Chemistry)

D.Hardy@lutterworthcollege.com

Dr N Joshi

Teacher of Science (Biology)

N.Joshi@lutterworthcollege.com

Miss K King Teacher of Science (Chemistry) K.King@lutterworthcollege.com
Mr G Mallaghan Teacher of Science (Biology) G.Mallaghan@lutterworthcollege.com
Mrs E Morely Teacher of Science (Biology) E.Morely@lutterworthcollege.com
Miss S Rojahn Teacher of Science (Chemistry) S.Rojahn@lutterworthcollege.com
Mrs H Scutt Teacher of Science (Biology) H. Scutt@lutterworthcollege.com
Mrs A Sunman Teacher of Science A.Sunman@lutterworthcollege.com
Mrs H Webb Teacher of Science (Biology) H. Webb@lutterworthcollege.com
Mrs M White Teacher of Science (Biology) M.White@lutterworthcollege.com
Mrs A Farrah HLTA Science & Technology A.Farrah@lutterworthcollege.com
Art, Design and Technology
Miss S Callaghan Head of Department  and Teacher of Design, Food &Engineering S.Callaghan@lutterworthcollege.com
S Baxter Teacher of Design, Food & Engineering S.Baxter@lutterworthcollege.com
P Evans Teacher of Design and Food P.Evans@lutterworthcollege.com
Mrs A Farrah HLTA Science & Technology A.Farrah@lutterworthcollege.com
N Guy Teacher of Design and Engineering N.Guy@lutterworthcollege.com
M Hadley Teacher of Design and Engineering M.Hadley@lutterworthcollege.com
M Skinner Teacher of Design and Textiles M.Skinner@lutterworthcollege.com
L Thornton Teacher of Design and Food @lutterworthcollege.com
H Jephcote Teacher of Art H.jephcote@lutterworthcollege.com
R Riley Teacher of Art R.riley@lutterworthcollege.com

Extra-curricular activities in Science & Technology: 

STEM club, and lunch time drop in sessions, after school Masterclasses, trips into industry and universities.

Student leadership opportunities:

STEM ambassador awards, volunteering

Equipment & resources:

State of the art laboratories with dedicated technician support